Monday, April 7, 2008

life in pictures

I got this fun meme from Cindy at Notes in the Key of Life.  I had to re-arrange it a bit because I run into all kinds of problems when I put a bunch of pictures up like this.  I have trouble getting them in the order I want.  So anyway, I did all the questions, but not in the same order she had them.
Here's how you play: 
1. Go to http://www.photobucket.com
2. Type in your answer to the question in the search box
3. Use only the first page
4. Insert the picture into your Blog.



What are you doing today? (visiting with my mom and aunts)



Where do you work?

What is your favorite movie?
Who is your favorite band/artist?
What is your favorite TV show?
Where do you live? (sorta - I can see it in the distance)

What did you do last night?
What is your relationship status?
What do you drive? (mine is black and has a different spoiler)
What is your current mood?  (Ok, it was this when I first started this thing...)
What kind of pet do you have?
What is your name?
Describe yourself.
What is your favorite candy?
What do you look like? (She was in Man from Snowy River.  Some people once told me that I looked like her, once upon a time.  As if...)


If you do this on your blog, let me know!
I found another list of questions that you do the same way.  I'll save them for another time.  Its kinda fun, in a real irritating sort of way.

Sunday, April 6, 2008

go look

I'm tired today.
So just click here to go to Kathy's blog and watch a video she posted last week.  It's really good.  He's my King.

Saturday, April 5, 2008

in our own words

My son coined the word Disastrophy.  It's pretty self - defining.

My daughter uses the word Romantical and I have picked that up, too.

When I was a teenager my friend's boyfriend was disgusted by something and said, "That is so grosstech!"  I like that much more than grotesque.

When we need lip balm we say that our chips are lapped.  Ok, well, I say that.  And maybe my sister does.

And one time a kid, (when I was a kid) was in serious distress, but we were laughing instead of caring because she was holding her eye saying, "Ow, my allbye, my allbye!"

I frequently make up words when in a swearing state of mine. But Consarn-it works well.  Dad-blame-it, does too.  "What in tarnation?!"  I say "Dagnabbit", but my boy says "Dangrabbit."  I don't swear like a sailor.  I swear like a miner.  
Or a baby.  I sometimes say poo poo instead.

We have all the cute little things our kiddos used to say, too.  My girl called water "nanu" and girls "gores."  My boy had a problem with g's and d's, so daddy was "gaggy" and dog and God were both "gog."    Grandpa wasn't real thrilled with being called "crap-o"  but I thought it was cute.

What about you?  Have any unique words?



Friday, April 4, 2008

how it all went down

Here's the scoop of what happened at Kohls today.  

It went a lot as I expected except that I first was distracted by the purses on sale. I "needed" a new purse.  So I looked at all of them.  A couple times, maybe three.  Then I picked one to carry around awhile but decided against it.  Finally, I found one I like.   I have never had a Daffodil colored purse before.  I carried it with me and looked in the mirror and kept it on my shoulder while I did the rest of my shopping.  It was a keeper.  It was a $28 dollar purse for less than $12.  Not bad.

Then I was distracted by the sunglasses.  I "needed" new sunglasses.  My other pair are the kind that cover half my face and I feel like that old Old Navy lady.  So after trying on many pairs of shades I found some I like in the section for Juniors.  Do you think it matters that I am practically 42 and will be wearing Juniors glasses?  Will people notice you think?  Will they point and laugh?  Oh dear.

Then I finally made my way to the PJ section.  And it went down pretty much the way I predicted.  I actually tried them on, though, which was smart, I think.  I got two pair.  One warm and one cool because one never knows.  The warm pair was only $6 though, so I can't really go wrong, even if I save them for next winter.  I didn't do the usual "making sure" part with the PJs, so I'm really hoping I didn't make any big mistakes.  Time will tell.


shopping


I need to go buy some new PJ's because I am going to a conference and the ones I wear at home just won't cut it.  I will have a roommate, you see.  And also, we are allowed to wear our jammies to movie night if we want to.

So, I'm going today to get some new ones.
Here is how it will most likely go.

I will go straight to the PJ section and look at every sings offering they have.  Then I will look again at the ones that caught my eye.  Then I will wander to the regular clothing section and think about how that tank top would probably work and those shorts look comfy enough.  Then I will head back to the PJs and look again until I find two or three choices that meet with my approval.  Then I will compare every single detail -- are there any itchy places?  What kind of tag do they have?  Is the fabric breathable?  Will they twist and bind?  Which are softest?  Which are cutest?  etc.

Maybe I will narrow it down to one set that I like.  So I will gather that set into my arms and then proceed to "be sure" I really want them.  This involves carrying them around with me throughout the rest of the store as I look at other things.  I'll look at the jammies from time to time.  I'll feel them.  I will look at the candles and kitchenwares.  I will look at the sales racks and the jewelry.  And then, if I still want them I will buy them.  This has required approximately two hours of my time.

I will go home and save them for the conference, but when I finally put them on, they will be the most uncomfortable things I've ever worn.

I don't particularly like shopping.  I wonder why...

The picture came from Here, if you'd like to go look at their cute jammies.

new blog

Monday through Sunday has created a new blog and its all about books!  She has invited me to contribute, too.
Go take a look at Books and Starbucks.

Thursday, April 3, 2008

thursday thirteen


I try to keep my posts positive, but I am going to write about summer today.  See, I am the opposite of most people.  I lovingly look forward to winter.  I embrace the cold, snow and ice.  I love it!   But I dread the coming of summer.  I will try to include something positive, though.
 
1.  Summer means weeds.  weeds.  weeds.  We have open space on two sides of us and the wild grass and weeds and thistles are very set upon overtaking our yard.  On the bright side, I happen to think that Dandelions are beautiful little flowers!  I love them!

2. Summer is hot.  Anything above 75 is just too hot for me.  Sweat.  Sunburn.  Horrible thirst.  Hot.  Dizzy.  Woozy.  Hot.  But at least its a dry heat.

3.  Summer means people are going to be running around showing body parts I have no interest in seeing.  Really.  Yuck.  On the positive side -- I can wear flipflops!  People may not want to see my feet, either I guess.  But I love not having to wear socks and enclosed shoes!

4. Summer is full of bored kids fighting with each other.  I love my kids and I love being with them, but their time together really needs to be limited.  On the positive side - my son starts year -round school this summer and will have to go back in July.  That's not so positive, but the bright side is that they will each have some time home without each other.  That will be nice, I think.

5. Summer means we always have some ideas for something fun to do that we never do.  Usually because its too hot.

6.  Ok, a positive one.  I love the State Fair and that's in the summer.  But it's usually 104 during that time.  So it's... you know... hot.  But I go and I suffer and I have fun in spite of heat stroke.  This year the kids will be in school by then, though.

7.  Another positive -- I'm on a roll --  I love the birds.  We get a lovely assortment of birds here at this house.

8.  Summer means mowing the lawn.  It's nice to have a big yard, but not when its time to mow.

9.  Here's a good one.  I love green!  I love it when we've had enough moisture for lots of pretty green.  We don't get green here like some of you do, but its still pretty.

10.  I like the rain, when we get it.

11.  Colorado boasts 300 days of sun per year, or some such thing.  That's not a positive thing for me.  The sun is hot.

12.  I don't like hot nights.  But I do like sleeping with the windows open.  And we get a nice breeze at this house.  And I love rolling over and finding a patch of nice cool sheets.

13.  Bugs.  My family hates bugs and I am the one they have designated to be the bug police.  It gets very tiring.  "Mom!  A bug!!  Kill IT!!!!"  Over and over and over.  We have a lot of bugs here.  Because of all the weeds.  That grow so well because of all the hot sun.

The above statements are true to the best of my knowledge.  But I love experiencing four seasons.  I know if I put my mind to it, I could find more things I love about summer. 
By the way, it is snowing as I write this. :)